The Off Night

I would love the opinion of some my moonkins/WoW players out there on this one. What do you do when you have an “off” night? Even the best players have them. I had one last night during our raid.

It started out on Deathwhisper. I was in the group staying on Deathwhisper and after the initial adds came out, I used Starfall. Next thing I know, I have an add on me. Thankfully, the healers were able to keep me up until the tank had control again. I know I should have waited a few seconds more but just started blasting.

My off night continued on Rotface. About halfway through the fight, I got picked for mutated injection. It was just my “luck” the add tank was right behind me. However, I forgot about the slime spray and just ran backward to the add tank. The slime spray hit me and I was dead. We still downed him but I feel stupid.

Then we moved on to Festergut. One of our players went down and I was called to battle rez. Now, this part was partly because I was testing a new UI that night called Tukui v10. It has bars for the people’s names in your raid since I don’t need a healer UI. For the life of me, I couldn’t find the person in my list to target them. So I knew it was melee so I moved from my position up and not paying attention to my range meter. One of the people by me got the vomit debuff and then I got it and I gave it to another person. I died. The person who originally got the debuff died. The healer was able to heal himself. Again, we downed him but it was still not a good feeling.

Then we moved to Professor Putricide. We wiped once on this boss. Partly because we had some new players with us. However, even in the one wipe, I managed to do something stupid. We were in phase 3 and I had to battle rez another player. When I was called to do it, I was between two slime piles. I send the battle rez. No sooner I did that then the area I was standing in got slimed. I died. The guy I rezzed died. We downed him on the second try without issue but again, just adding on to my night of fail.

So what did I do after my off night. Well, one I went to a target dummy and practiced my rotation to reassure myself on knowing what to do. Also, I consider it the equivalent of punching a pillow when you get frustrated in real life. It doesn’t help you. It doesn’t help the pillow. But it does feel really good. After that, I went to bed and got a nice nights sleep.

So how about moonkins or WoW players in general, how do you handle the off night?

This entry was posted in World of Warcraft General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Off Night

  1. Poulsenster says:

    On the very first night I raided with my current guild, I was trying to understand their Marrowgar tactic. Somehow I got the impression that they wanted to split ranged and healers into two groups that had to stand away from him, even in phase 1.Little did i know that they had just pointed out which direction people should be running during bonestorm – as it should be. Not only failing that, after the first phase of bonestorm, I failed to notice the direction the boss was facing, and instead of moving behind him, i stood in front of him with the tanks. Suffice to say, I died – on the first fight with my brand new guild. Gasp!Usually I don't make mistakes. In fact, I think I deal with mechanics rather nicely. But you can be sure that if I ever go "Guy, its pretty damn easy to avoid the yeti when he charges", i will not only be targeted by the next charge, I will also fail it miserably.This curse showed itself most back in my old guild, where we had a lot of people popping the clouds on Yogg-Saron. Being the caster master at the time, i took it upon myself to tell the guild over vent how I danced around them, in a way that allowed me to move as little as possible and get as much time standing still as I could. I was quite good at that.But then came a time where I went "And so, when i move over behind this cloud, I can stand here for pretty long time before I have to move again". Only, i hadn't realised that the cloud was moving towards me, not away from me, and my honor took a toll as the guild laughed at my smartyness :PI keep my mouth shut on our Sindragosa kills. I will never utter the words "Guys, cmon, it is SOOO easy to avoid the frost bombs!"

  2. Jasyla says:

    This past weekend I had my worst raid performance ever. I play a resto druid and we were doing heroic Valithria 10 for the first time. I am always assinged to take the portals and heal Val in 25man, and I usually do very well at it. On the heroic version, however, I apparently forgot how to play. In the two attemps it took us to kill her I think I completely missed about 5 portals (I didn't know she doesn't yell about opening them in heroic), and the highest I got my buff stack was about 10. It was terrible.I just apologized to my raid for being so terrible then got a good night's sleep.

Leave a Reply

